Home > Contests and prizes > Announcing Our Second Annual Poetry Chapbook Contest

Announcing Our Second Annual Poetry Chapbook Contest

February 15, 2010

We’re pleased to announce qarrtsiluni’s second annual poetry chapbook contest. The judge is renowned nonfiction author Ken Lamberton, and the deadline for submissions is April 15. The winner will be announced on August 1, and publication in print and online will follow in late summer/early fall. Since we use a print-on-demand service for the paper edition and make it available world-wide through Amazon, it will remain in print for years if not decades longer than most limited-edition poetry chapbooks.

Last year’s contest was a definite success, with 50 manuscripts submitted, 10 excellent chapbooks chosen for the shortlist, and a stunning winning entry by Pamela Johnson Parker, which has received wide notice on the web, as well as being published in full in both print and online editions. As in 2009, selected poems from the top ten 2010 chapbooks will be published here, and two runners-up will be chosen in addition to the winner.

GUIDELINES: Before submitting, please read carefully the complete details on the contest page; all manuscripts must meet the published guidelines. Judging will be anonymous, with chapbooks identified by a number only. Beth Adams, qarrtsiluni co-managing editor, will be the contest coordinator. If you have a question that is not answered by the guidelines, please direct your inquiry to her by email: qarrtsiluni.chapbook.2010 [at] gmail.com.

HELPFUL ADVICE: Although each year’s judging is subjective, entrants may wish to take a look at last year’s finalists and winner, and to read what Pamela Johnson Parker had to say about putting together her winning collection. An interview about the chapbook contest process, with qarrtsiluni editors Dave Bonta and Beth Adams, was published earlier this year at Read Write Poem, and toward the end contains our advice for entrants.

We hope you will consider submitting your best work to us. Good luck to everyone!

Categories: Contests and prizes
%d bloggers like this: